department of Microbiology

The Department of Medical Microbiology was founded as a component of the Faculty of Medicine of the medical school, University of Nigeria, Enugu Campus (UNEC). The Faculty was established in 1967.

The Department, also had the services of some notable laboratory scientists and technicians who were involved in establishing the department; Mazi Vincent Okoro (who later resigned to become the Eze Aro), Prof. U. C. Ozumba is the first medically qualified Professor in the department. The department has grown to its present status besides engaging in peer reviewed-research and publication, the training of medicals Students, also offers expert services to the UNTH in terms of diagnosis, training of resident doctors and infection control. 

The department has established a legacy of diligence and dedicated work ethic which continues till date.

Connect with us

FMS College Of medicine, University Of Nigeria, Enugu.

  • dummy+234 0902 223 010

  • dummy


Get our weekly Medical Sciences insights.