department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology



The Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology is one of the pioneer departments at the time of establishing the Faculty of Medicine of the University of Nigeria in March 1967. Professor Okonkwo Ogan was the pioneer Head of Department. He joined the department as an Associate Professor and the only academic staff. The second academic staff joined him in May 1967. Over the years, the department has grown with the parent University of Nigeria. Currently, the department has thirty six academic staff members comprising of thirty four permanent staff and two visiting professors. Two additional members of staff who are hospital consultants in the employment of the University of Nigeria Teaching Hospital work in the clinical arm of the department, bringing the professional strength of the department to thirty eight. The academic staff of the department comprises of nine professors, one associate professor, two visiting professors, 16 senior lecturers and eight lecturers 1. The work of the department is supported by seven non-academic staff members.



Connect with us

FMS College Of medicine, University Of Nigeria, Enugu.

  • dummy+234 0902 223 010

  • dummy


Get our weekly Medical Sciences insights.